Liar Liar: I just want to get from my car to the office without being confronted by the decay of western society… PLUS I’M CHEAP.

liar-liar-movie-poster

I remember going on holiday with my family when I was about seven or eight. We used to go to the same place every year in France. This place was amazing, it had acres of land, animals everywhere and the house was beautiful. This is when I remember being introduced to Mr Jim Carrey (via the television). The farm house had two DVDs. One was a 15 (I believe it was Jerry Maguire) so i wasn’t allowed to watch it. The other was Liar Liar. I remember after the holiday I started bragging at school because i’d watched the film about fifteen times and I knew all the words.

I have now seen Liar Liar (probably due to its constant repeats on ITV4 and comedy central) about thirty times. Its comedy transends through every generation. My Dad (also a Liar… I mean Lawyer) loved the court scenes (“pre-nuptual agreeeement”), my big sisters loved the seedy father-in-law, whereas I loved Jim Carreys brilliant physical comedy, his banter with his son, throwing himself around like a rag doll, and his fantastic tongue twister monologues which seemed to never end.

Now that i’m an adult I can still laugh at the silly plot, Carreys brilliant physical prowess, and it helps that I still know all the words! It will definitely be a film I will watch with my kids one day.

This will forever be one of my favourite films (don’t judge). Possibly because it reminds me of being in France on the farm with my big sisters and my parents, or possibly because Jim Carrey is like marmite and i LOVE marmite.

 

One thought on “Liar Liar: I just want to get from my car to the office without being confronted by the decay of western society… PLUS I’M CHEAP.

  1. Pingback: Lawyer Lawyer Lawyer | opiesnoopie

Leave a Reply

